London SE1 community website

Where to become engaged in SE1?

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Monday 29 December 2008 1.17am
Hi SE1!

I'm a resident of the LSE Bankside House just behind the Tate Modern. I'd like to get involved with the community, preferably by engaging in or creating some kind of social/youth project. Who can I talk to about this? Is there a person/institution responsible for this area?

Cheers,
Caspar
Monday 29 December 2008 8.57am
Crikey Caspar, I thought you were going to propose marriage! still your post is very very worthy..:-)
Monday 29 December 2008 11.26am
Welcome to SE1, Caspar.

Blackfriars Settlement have a range of programmes for young and old in the Borough & Bankside area - probably a good place to start.

Editor of the London SE1 website.
Subscribe to our SE1 Direct weekly newsletter.
Monday 29 December 2008 1.58pm
Haha who knows, if things go well I might propose marriage to someone at some point :P
Thanks for your help, I'll check out Blackfriars Settlement as soon as I get back to London.

Does anyone know of any initiatives that already exist?
Wednesday 31 December 2008 9.52am
Hi Caspar, you might also contact Southwark CAS - they are the umbrella organisation for voluntary sector groups in Southwark and keep a log of all voluntary vacancies required by local charities etc. No connection, but I've done a couple of their excellent training courses and had a friend matched up to a local charity. They might be able to match up your interests and time available to a local group that you might not have heard of.
http://www.casouthwark.org.uk/
Wednesday 31 December 2008 10.17am
Ditto Volunteer Centre Southwark:
http://www.volunteercentres.org.uk/

Editor of the London SE1 website.
Subscribe to our SE1 Direct weekly newsletter.

To post a message, please log in or register..
Keep up with SE1 news

We have three email newsletters for you to choose from:

We are part of
Independent Community News Network