London SE1 community website

Loud noise

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  Previous1 2
Current: 2 of 2
Tuesday 3 November 2009 11.03am
Helen - BSO moved their treatment centre to Southwark Bridge Road, but the teaching side of things remains on Borough High Street.

Editor of the London SE1 website.
Subscribe to our SE1 Direct weekly newsletter.
Wednesday 4 November 2009 4.47pm
Hi there. I am a Student the British School of Osteopathy (BSO) and the President of the BSO Student Union (SU).

Firstly I would like to apologise about the noise on Friday the 30th Oct 09, as this was our Halloween party at the school. I am now aware that the volume may have been too loud, as the back door to the Student Union (SU) area was open to allow the smokers to enjoy themselves while at the party.

During the school week we generally have a quiet SU. It is only on Friday nights that we hold events in the SU area, these being around once a month. Regarding your complaint of a band practicing on Saturday mornings I would like to point out that this took place for around 6 weeks only, prior to a school event which was held on the 20th June 09. Considering that we are students I am positive that the band was not practicing at an unreasonable time of the morning and would not have arrived here until after 10am, if not later. However I am sorry that you felt this was unacceptable.

We are a licensed venue and have been since moving to these premises in 1997.

Since discussing this problem with the school, the SU and bar staff have agreed to close the back door at 9:30pm on party nights which will reduce the noise for our neighbours. Smokers will still go outside but through another exit at the other/end side of the building.