London SE1 community website

Trying to understand..

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Thursday 18 April 2019 4.11pm
Something I wish to understand.

Quickly passing by - I fancied a pint & thereís a Weatherspoons near Elephant & Castle.

Iíve had a pint every few months there when near by the area and they have allowed me to bring my dog into the pub - carried & sit outside.

The outside area is a public space which my council tax pays for the maintenance - cleaning etc.

Weatherspoons - lease the space and have cordoned off an area.

I am now not allowed to buy a pint - stand on ďpublic owned spaceĒ outside Weatherspoons which as a resident I pay towards the maintenance & upkeep.

I donít understand it?.
Thursday 18 April 2019 6.25pm
Is it a by law to stop drinkers near there? I take your pint though...
Thursday 18 April 2019 6.27pm
Meant your point...not yor unavailable pint!
Thursday 18 April 2019 8.37pm
Jan the old one wrote:
Meant your point...not yor unavailable pint!

Smiling - no itís Weatherspoons Pilicy no dogs indoors or outdoors except they only lease the land. I guess put the dog one side of the barrier & me the other.
Friday 19 April 2019 10.29am
Doubly confused why you have to carry your dog into a pub anyway ? Dogs don't glass anyone, start fights,give evils to customers. And if they did it would be justified because they have sixth sense about people!
Saturday 20 April 2019 2.13pm
Agree :)
Saturday 20 April 2019 9.14pm
I find this quite sad. I love dogs and I like them in pubs. If Wetherspoons explanation had mentoned incidents of attacks on people I could begin to understand but 'some people are frightened' is balls.
https://news.sky.com/story/dogs-barred-from-wetherspoons-for-being-unpredictable-11493804

Though I would have thought their lease allows them to do this. People have a lease on a council home and you can't just walk in, with or without a dog. It's a lease.