London SE1 community website

Drones

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Tuesday 13 August 2019 8.36pm
I'm an amateur drone pilot who likes to take aerial photographs and abide by all the rules when out flying. I'm also curious to find out people's perceptions of drones and any experiences you have had with them. Please let me know what you think as I'm really keen to find out. Many thanks in advance. David.
Wednesday 14 August 2019 10.24am
Unless invading privacy I love aerial photography Also drones have been so useful in search and rescue. Depends on how and what you use it for. If I saw one outside my home I'd be v unhappy indeed.
Wednesday 14 August 2019 11.27am
Can you advise, Wingwalker, where is it legal for an amateur to fly a drone in SE1? - given, I quote from https://www.silicon.co.uk/e-regulation/fly-drones-london-158901 :

*Drones must not be flown within 150 metres of any congested area, within 150 metres of an outdoor assembly of more than 1,000 people, or within 50 metres of any individual except during take-off and landing. Youíre also not allowed to fly drones within 50 metres of any other vehicle, structure or property thatís not under your control.
*Unmanned aircraft with a camera attached or built-in are classified as an unmanned surveillance aircraft, and are also subject to stricter rules regarding the operation. For example, if thereís a camera on-board, youíre not allowed to fly the drone within 30 metres of any individual, rather than 50 metres.
*If you are recording people with a film or still camera loaded onto the drone, you will also have to abide to the Data Protection Act.

How, in SE1, can anyone manage to get 150 metres away from a congested area, or 50 metres away from a vehicle, structure or property that's not under their control?