London SE1 community website

Shad Thames is dying... can we do anything?

Join in these discussions today! Log in or register.
Pages:  1 2 Next
Current: 1 of 2
Tuesday 11 August 2020 6.29pm
I've been a resident of Shad Thames for 20years since I was in my early 20s and have become saddened at the decay of the area. It is as if time has stood still in the area from the glory days of the late 1990s/2000s.

Retail space after retail space has gone to waste. Design Museum, Valentina, Bengal Clipper, Ask and Pizza Express not reopened yet. The buildings are also looking dated and worn both inside and out. A building I know well Cinnamon Wharf is looking tired with the same furniture in the entrance as there was 20yrs ago, yet managing agents still happy to collect anywhere between 4 and 10k a year from its residents for service charges.

You could say the area is in a unique location by tower bridge but where is the innovation outside Legare and Watchhouse. Its as though the area is content to be a tourist trap, but the reality of it is a slow deathly spiral for business and residents there. I walked down Bermondsey Street this evening. its beautiful with the innovation in restaurants, bars, cafes, even the whole London Bridge train station area has been uplifted, so why hasn't Shad Thames. There is litter everywhere, broken paving stones on the front, weeds growing where Ask is located.

Surely someone has to wake up and smell the coffee before its too late for the area. There are so many spaces that can be let. Don't be greedy, let people try and succeed especially given the uncertain times we live in for businesses.
Tuesday 11 August 2020 9.49pm