SE1 goes Lib Dem as Labour loses Lambeth

Every ward in SE1 is now held by the Liberal Democrats following Thursday's elections. Both Lambeth and Southwark Councils now have no party with overall control.


The new composition of the council is:

Liberal Democrats – 30
Labour – 28
Conservatives – 5
Total: 63

Prior to the election, the political composition of Southwark was:
Labour – 31
Lib Dem – 27
Conservative – 4
Independent – 2
Total: 64

The result means there is no majority party and leaders will now meet to decide what kind of executive arrangements will be put in place. There will be a constitutional meeting of the council on 29 May when executive arrangements are likely to be adopted.
Full results for Southwark


The new composition of the council is:

Labour – 28
Lib Dem – 28
Conservative – 7

Prior to the election, the political composition of Lambeth was:
Labour – 41
Lib Dem – 18
Conservative – 5

Commenting on the election result in Lambeth, chief executive Faith Boardman said: "It has been an eventful election in Lambeth, as in many other parts of London.

"All three political party leaders are clearly committed to making a balanced council work for the benefit of all of the people of Lambeth and shall be meeting to determine a positive and constructive way forward."
Full results for Lambeth

The SE1 website is supported by people like you

Keep up with SE1 news

We have three email newsletters for you to choose from:

Proud to belong to

Independent Community News Network