Theatre

What's on at SE1's many theatres; West End and fringe; professional and amateur.

Theatre by venue


 

Theatre by date

Wednesday 27 August 2014 to Saturday 20 September 2014
Eye of a Needle - Southwark Playhouse
By Chris MacDonald
Wednesday 3 September 2014 to Saturday 27 September 2014
the dreaming - Union Theatre
By Howard Goodall
Saturday 20 September 2014 to Sunday 28 September 2014
Something Very Far Away - Unicorn Theatre
Written, Directed and Original Score by Mark Arends
Tuesday 16 September 2014 to Saturday 4 October 2014
The Woman in the Moon - The Rose Playhouse
Neglected but extraordinary 'dream' play by John Lyly
Tuesday 23 September 2014 to Sunday 5 October 2014
Win/Lose/Draw - Waterloo East Theatre
A startling portrait of modern America
Friday 12 September 2014 to Friday 10 October 2014
Doctor Scroggy's War - Shakespeare's Globe
A sideways look at the First World War
Friday 20 June 2014 to Saturday 11 October 2014
Julius Caesar - Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Dominic Dromgoole
Thursday 11 September 2014 to Saturday 11 October 2014
Ballyturk - National Theatre
Cillian Murphy is reunited with writer and director Enda Walsh
Wednesday 1 October 2014 to Saturday 11 October 2014
dirty butterfly - Young Vic
New drama from debbie tucker green
Saturday 30 August 2014 to Sunday 12 October 2014
The Comedy of Errors - Shakespeare's Globe
Blanche McIntyre's production
Thursday 18 September 2014 to Sunday 12 October 2014
The Secret Life of Suitcases - Unicorn Theatre
By Lewis Hetherington and Ailie Cohen
Thursday 18 September 2014 to Saturday 18 October 2014
As You Like It - Southwark Playhouse
Celebrating 450 years since Shakespeare's birth
Tuesday 14 October 2014 to Sunday 19 October 2014
The Hotel - 47/49 Tanner Street
Jackinabox Productions presents a new immersive experience
Thursday 16 October 2014 to Sunday 19 October 2014
Swines - 47/49 Tanner Street
Satirical performance inspired by Britain's game show/talent show culture
Wednesday 10 September 2014 to Saturday 25 October 2014
The James Plays - National Theatre
A trio of new history plays by Rona Munro
Wednesday 1 October 2014 to Saturday 25 October 2014
Love Story - Union Theatre
Music by Howard Goodall
Tuesday 7 October 2014 to Sunday 26 October 2014
The Massacre in Paris - The Rose Playhouse
Marlowe's brutal and incendiary masterpiece
Wednesday 8 October 2014 to Sunday 26 October 2014
The Tempest - Waterloo East Theatre
The Bard with a pumping soundtrack
Monday 20 October 2014 to Wednesday 29 October 2014
Another Day Stories from the Blackfriars Mile
Site-specific production of short plays based on local stories
Tuesday 9 September 2014 to Sunday 2 November 2014
Seesaw - Unicorn Theatre
Directed by Sarah Argent
Thursday 30 October 2014 to Sunday 2 November 2014
Nosferatu - Unicorn Theatre
Another Halloween full of humour, horror and an inventive use of light bulbs
Thursday 9 October 2014 to Sunday 9 November 2014
How Nigeria Became A Story, And A Spear That Didnít Work - Unicorn Theatre
A creative insight into Nigeria's beginnings in 1914
Wednesday 3 September 2014 to Saturday 15 November 2014
Fully Committed - Menier Chocolate Factory
Starring Kevin Bishop
Thursday 6 November 2014 to Saturday 22 November 2014
Girls Like That - Unicorn Theatre
Gender equality and the pressures on today's digital generation
Wednesday 29 October 2014 to Sunday 23 November 2014
Girlfriends - Union Theatre
By Howard Goodall
Friday 10 October 2014 to Saturday 29 November 2014
The Cherry Orchard - Young Vic
New English language version
Friday 7 November 2014 to Saturday 29 November 2014
Far Away - Young Vic
One womanís search for the truth in a senseless world
Thursday 13 November 2014 to Saturday 29 November 2014
Dusk - Young Vic
An adventure that explores the meaning of home, family, change and reunion
Thursday 23 October 2014 to Sunday 7 December 2014
'Tis Pity She's A Whore - Shakespeare's Globe
John Ford's infamous tale of incestuous lust and obsessive revenge
Monday 22 September 2014 to Saturday 20 December 2014
Electra - The Old Vic
Starring Kristin Scott Thomas
Wednesday 3 December 2014 to Saturday 20 December 2014
Rosie's Magic Horse - Southwark Playhouse
For children aged 3 to 8
Thursday 11 December 2014 to Tuesday 23 December 2014
The Way Back Home - Young Vic
Katie Mitchell's new opera for children
Wednesday 26 November 2014 to Sunday 4 January 2015
The Nutcracker and the Mouse King - Unicorn Theatre
Christmas show full of magic, mice and adventure
Friday 28 November 2014 to Sunday 4 January 2015
Usagi Yojimbo - Southwark Playhouse
Based on the comic-book by Stan Sakai
Sunday 30 November 2014 to Sunday 4 January 2015
The Fourth Wise Man - Unicorn Theatre
A tale of one man and his camel...
Tuesday 9 December 2014 to Sunday 4 January 2015
Scrunch - Unicorn Theatre
Created by Sarah Argent and Kevin Lewis
Monday 13 October 2014 to Thursday 8 January 2015
Here Lies Love - National Theatre
Award-winning New York production of David Byrne and Fatboy Slim's musical
Wednesday 26 November 2014 to Sunday 11 January 2015
3 Winters - National Theatre
A new play by Tena ätivičić, directed by Howard Davies
Thursday 11 December 2014 to Sunday 11 January 2015
The Knight of the Burning Pestle - Shakespeare's Globe
Adele Thomas's joyful production
Thursday 30 October 2014 to Tuesday 13 January 2015
John - National Theatre
A new verbatim dance-theatre work
Monday 10 November 2014 to Thursday 15 January 2015
Behind The Beautiful Forevers - National Theatre
A tumultuous play on an epic scale
Friday 9 January 2015 to Sunday 25 January 2015
The Polar Bears Go Wild - Unicorn Theatre
Music, laughter and quite a bit of cheekiness
Wednesday 3 December 2014 to Thursday 19 February 2015
Treasure Island - National Theatre
NT's family Christmas show
Saturday 14 February 2015 to Sunday 22 February 2015
50 Dangerous Things (You Should Let Your Children Do) - Unicorn Theatre
Try out everything you didn't ever think was allowed
Saturday 14 February 2015 to Sunday 22 February 2015
The Chair - Unicorn Theatre
With live music, songs and a cut throat razor
Thursday 15 January 2015 to Sunday 1 March 2015
The Changeling - Shakespeare's Globe
Thomas Middleton's ferocious tale of madness and passion
Tuesday 3 February 2015 to Thursday 5 March 2015
L'Ormindo - Shakespeare's Globe
Friday 21 November 2014 to Saturday 7 March 2015
Assassins - Menier Chocolate Factory
Musical by Stephen Sondheim and John Weidman
Wednesday 11 February 2015 to Saturday 7 March 2015
Farinelli and the King - Shakespeare's Globe
World premiere of Claire van Kampen's new play with music
Friday 13 February 2015 to Sunday 15 March 2015
Britainís Best Recruiting Sergeant - Unicorn Theatre
Feisty, song-filled and touching look at the life of Vesta Tilley
Friday 16 January 2015 to Saturday 21 March 2015
The Caucasian Chalk Circle - Unicorn Theatre
Bold new production of Brecht's moral masterpiece
Friday 13 February 2015 to Saturday 21 March 2015
Happy Days - Young Vic
Juliet Stevenson returns to the Young Vic
Thursday 12 March 2015 to Saturday 18 April 2015
The Broken Heart - Shakespeare's Globe
John Ford's searching exploration of the darkest recesses of the human psyche
Thursday 9 April 2015 to Saturday 18 April 2015
Dido, Queen of Carthage - Shakespeare's Globe
Globe Young Players production
Saturday 28 March 2015 to Sunday 26 April 2015
The Velveteen Rabbit - Unicorn Theatre
Classic American tale
Wednesday 11 March 2015 to Saturday 2 May 2015
Buyer and Cellar - Menier Chocolate Factory
Starring Michael Urie
Thursday 16 April 2015 to Sunday 3 May 2015
Fight Night - Unicorn Theatre
Directed by Alexander Devriendt
Thursday 7 May 2015 to Thursday 4 June 2015
Planeta Ka - Unicorn Theatre
Discover a new environment using sound, textures and visual effects
Saturday 6 June 2015 to Sunday 21 June 2015
One Little Word - Unicorn Theatre
Moving story of friendship, power struggles and the rich world of creative play

Subscribe now

For the latest local news and events direct to your inbox every Monday, you need our weekly email newsletter SE1 Direct.

7,300+ locals read it every week. Can you afford to miss out?

Read the latest issue before signing up