Theatre

What's on at SE1's many theatres; West End and fringe; professional and amateur.

Theatre by venue


 

Theatre by date

Thursday 23 April 2015
Lambeth North Music Hall - The Horse & Stables
Old-time music hall performance
Thursday 23 April 2015
The Ballad of St George & the Dragon - Borough Market
Open-air theatre
Tuesday 14 April 2015 to Saturday 25 April 2015
Lorca: amor en el jardin Lorca: Love in the Garden - Southwark Playhouse
Saturday 28 March 2015 to Sunday 26 April 2015
The Velveteen Rabbit - Unicorn Theatre
Classic American tale
Tuesday 7 April 2015 to Thursday 30 April 2015
King Lear - The Rose Playhouse
Starring John McEnery
Thursday 30 April 2015
Lambeth North Music Hall - The Horse & Stables
Old-time music hall performance
Wednesday 11 March 2015 to Saturday 2 May 2015
Buyer and Cellar - Menier Chocolate Factory
Starring Michael Urie
Thursday 16 April 2015 to Sunday 3 May 2015
Fight Night - Unicorn Theatre
Directed by Alexander Devriendt
Monday 10 November 2014 to Tuesday 5 May 2015
Behind The Beautiful Forevers - National Theatre
A tumultuous play on an epic scale
Wednesday 15 April 2015 to Saturday 9 May 2015
Scarlet - Southwark Playhouse
New play by Sam H. Freeman
Tuesday 28 April 2015 to Saturday 16 May 2015
Beyond Caring - National Theatre
by Alexander Zeldin
Tuesday 17 February 2015 to Sunday 17 May 2015
Man and Superman - National Theatre
Ralph Fiennes returns to the National
Tuesday 14 April 2015 to Saturday 23 May 2015
Ah, Wilderness! - Young Vic
By Eugene O'Neill
Wednesday 22 April 2015 to Saturday 23 May 2015
Closer to Heaven - Union Theatre
Pet Shop Boys musical
Wednesday 21 January 2015 to Wednesday 27 May 2015
The Hard Problem - National Theatre
By Tom Stoppard
Tuesday 5 May 2015 to Saturday 30 May 2015
Macbeth - The Rose Playhouse
Directed by Benjamin Blyth
Monday 11 May 2015 to Saturday 30 May 2015
World Factory - Young Vic
Interactive theatre
Thursday 9 April 2015 to Sunday 31 May 2015
Alice's Adventures Underground - The Vaults
Thursday 7 May 2015 to Thursday 4 June 2015
Planeta Ka - Unicorn Theatre
Discover a new environment using sound, textures and visual effects
Wednesday 13 May 2015 to Saturday 6 June 2015
Klippies - Southwark Playhouse
World premiere
Thursday 23 April 2015 to Sunday 7 June 2015
The Merchant of Venice - Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Jonathan Munby
Saturday 6 June 2015 to Sunday 21 June 2015
One Little Word - Unicorn Theatre
Moving story of friendship, power struggles and the rich world of creative play
Thursday 23 April 2015 to Monday 22 June 2015
Light Shining In Buckinghamshire - National Theatre
by Caryl Churchill
Thursday 7 May 2015 to Saturday 27 June 2015
Communicating Doors - Menier Chocolate Factory
Alan Ayckbourn
Monday 1 June 2015 to Sunday 28 June 2015
King John - Shakespeare's Globe
A tangled world of ruthless politicking and fatal power struggles
Thursday 7 May 2015 to Tuesday 30 June 2015
Communicating Doors - Menier Chocolate Factory
Directed by Lindsay Posner
Friday 13 March 2015 to Wednesday 8 July 2015
Rules For Living - National Theatre
A new play by Sam Holcroft, directed by Marianne Elliott
Thursday 11 June 2015 to Saturday 11 July 2015
We Want You To Watch - National Theatre
a new play by RashDash and Alice Birch 11 June 11 July
Tuesday 23 June 2015 to Saturday 11 July 2015
An Oak Tree - National Theatre
Islington Community Theatre
Tuesday 21 July 2015 to Saturday 25 July 2015
Brainstorm - National Theatre
Islington Community Theatre
Tuesday 19 May 2015 to Wednesday 29 July 2015
The Beaux' Stratagem - National Theatre
by George Farquhar
Wednesday 22 April 2015 to Friday 31 July 2015
Everyman - National Theatre
adapted by Carol Ann Duffy
Monday 8 June 2015 to Friday 31 July 2015
The Red Lion - National Theatre
a new play by Patrick Marber
Wednesday 10 June 2015 to Friday 31 July 2015
The Motherf**ker With The Hat - National Theatre
Love and addiction in New York City
Friday 19 June 2015 to Saturday 8 August 2015
The Trial - Young Vic
Franz Kafka
Friday 3 July 2015 to Saturday 8 August 2015
A Number - Young Vic
Caryl Churchill's thrilling drama
Thursday 30 April 2015 to Saturday 22 August 2015
High Society - The Old Vic
Cole Porter's classic feel-good musical
Friday 15 May 2015 to Saturday 5 September 2015
As You Like It - Shakespeare's Globe
Blanche McIntyre directs Shakespeare's lyrical comedy
Friday 31 July 2015 to Saturday 5 September 2015
The Heresy of Love - Shakespeare's Globe
New writing by Helen Edmundson
Thursday 3 September 2015 to Saturday 19 September 2015
Song from Far Away - Young Vic
UK premiere
Saturday 29 August 2015 to Friday 16 October 2015
Oresteia - Shakespeare's Globe
A contemporary distillation of all three plays
Saturday 20 June 2015 to Saturday 17 October 2015
Measure for Measure - Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Dominic Dromgoole
Saturday 19 September 2015 to Saturday 17 October 2015
Nell Gwynn - Shakespeare's Globe
Jessica Swale's rambunctious and vibrant new play
Thursday 24 September 2015 to Saturday 17 October 2015
La Musica - Young Vic
London revival
Saturday 11 July 2015 to Sunday 18 October 2015
Richard II - Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Simon Godwin
Friday 2 October 2015 to Saturday 7 November 2015
Measure for Measure - Young Vic
William Shakespeare
Thursday 26 November 2015 to Saturday 16 January 2016
Macbeth - Young Vic
William Shakespeare

Subscribe now

For the latest local news and events direct to your inbox every Monday, you need our weekly email newsletter SE1 Direct.

7,300+ locals read it every week. Can you afford to miss out?

Read the latest issue before signing up