Theatre

What's on at SE1's many theatres; West End and fringe; professional and amateur.

Theatre by venue

Theatre by date

Saturday 9 April 2016 to Saturday 7 May 2016
Another World; Losing Our Children To Islamic State at National Theatre
A piece of verbatim documentary theatre, written by Gillian Slovo
Tuesday 2 February 2016 to Wednesday 18 May 2016
Ma Rainey's Black Bottom at National Theatre
Directed by Dominic Cooke
Friday 22 April 2016 to Saturday 21 May 2016
The Toxic Avenger at Southwark Playhouse
Based on the 1984 classic cult film
Tuesday 22 March 2016 to Thursday 2 June 2016
Les Blancs at National Theatre
Unknown masterpiece of the American stage
Wednesday 11 May 2016 to Sunday 5 June 2016
The Great American Trailer Park Musical at Waterloo East Theatre
London premiere
Wednesday 13 April 2016 to Wednesday 15 June 2016
The Flick at National Theatre
Pulitzer-winning play direct from New York
Thursday 12 May 2016 to Saturday 18 June 2016
Blue / Orange at Young Vic
By Joe Penhall
Wednesday 6 April 2016 to Saturday 25 June 2016
The Suicide at National Theatre
Suhayla El-Bashra's modern take on Nikolai Erdman's masterpiece
Friday 20 May 2016 to Monday 27 June 2016
Cuttin' It at Young Vic
Charlene James's play about FGM in the UK
Wednesday 15 June 2016 to Saturday 9 July 2016
Vassa Zheleznova at Southwark Playhouse
By Maxim Gorky in a new version by Emily Juniper
Thursday 28 July 2016 to Saturday 30 July 2016
Oliver! at Greenwood Theatre
Quay Players summer production
Wednesday 25 May 2016 to Thursday 4 August 2016
Sunset at the Villa Thalia at National Theatre
By Alexi Kaye Campbell
Friday 13 May 2016 to Saturday 6 August 2016
The Taming of the Shrew at Shakespeare's Globe
An Irish take on Petruchio and Kate's story
Wednesday 1 June 2016 to Wednesday 17 August 2016
The Deep Blue Sea at National Theatre
Carrie Cracknell directs Terence Rattigan's play
Wednesday 20 July 2016 to Saturday 27 August 2016
The Plough and the Stars at National Theatre
Directed by Howard Davies
Wednesday 18 May 2016 to Wednesday 31 August 2016
The Threepenny Opera at National Theatre
New adaptation by Simon Stephens
Thursday 14 July 2016 to Saturday 3 September 2016
Young Chekhov at National Theatre
Directed by Jonathan Kent
Friday 29 July 2016 to Saturday 10 September 2016
Yerma at Young Vic
Simon Stone's new version of Lorca's Yerma
Saturday 30 April 2016 to Sunday 11 September 2016
A Midsummer Night's Dream at Shakespeare's Globe
Meow Meow stars as the fairy queen Titania
Saturday 3 September 2016 to Saturday 24 September 2016
The Emperor at Young Vic
New work
Saturday 18 June 2016 to Saturday 1 October 2016
Macbeth at Shakespeare's Globe
Tara Fitzgerald and Ray Fearon
Thursday 6 October 2016 to Saturday 12 November 2016
A Man of Good Hope at Young Vic
UK premiere
Friday 28 October 2016 to Saturday 26 November 2016
The Nest at Young Vic
New adaptation of the German classic
Friday 25 November 2016 to Saturday 14 January 2017
Once in a Lifetime at Young Vic
Hollywood satire

Keep up with SE1 news

We have three email newsletters for you to choose from: