Theatre

What's on at SE1's many theatres; West End and fringe; professional and amateur.

Theatre by venue


 

Theatre by date

Friday 9 January 2015 to Sunday 25 January 2015
The Polar Bears Go Wild - Unicorn Theatre
Music, laughter and quite a bit of cheekiness
Tuesday 9 December 2014 to Saturday 31 January 2015
Golem - Young Vic
A blend of animation and live performance
Monday 5 January 2015 to Saturday 31 January 2015
Tree - The Old Vic
A play for two people by Daniel Kitson
Friday 9 January 2015 to Saturday 31 January 2015
Bat Boy: The Musical - Southwark Playhouse
Off Broadway smash flies in to Southwark
Tuesday 20 January 2015 to Saturday 31 January 2015
The Lark - The Rose Playhouse
Jean Anouilh's epic tale of Joan of Arc
Wednesday 26 November 2014 to Tuesday 3 February 2015
3 Winters - National Theatre
A new play by Tena ätivičić, directed by Howard Davies
Thursday 8 January 2015 to Saturday 7 February 2015
Bull - Young Vic
London premiere
Wednesday 14 January 2015 to Saturday 7 February 2015
Upper Cut - Southwark Playhouse
The fight for diversity and black representation in British politics
Wednesday 28 January 2015 to Saturday 21 February 2015
Whistle Down The Wind - Union Theatre
Critically acclaimed musical
Wednesday 11 February 2015 to Saturday 21 February 2015
Man: three plays by Tennessee Williams - Young Vic
Saturday 14 February 2015 to Sunday 22 February 2015
50 Dangerous Things (You Should Let Your Children Do) - Unicorn Theatre
Try out everything you didn't ever think was allowed
Saturday 14 February 2015 to Sunday 22 February 2015
The Chair - Unicorn Theatre
With live music, songs and a cut throat razor
Thursday 15 January 2015 to Sunday 1 March 2015
The Changeling - Shakespeare's Globe
Thomas Middleton's ferocious tale of madness and passion
Tuesday 3 February 2015 to Thursday 5 March 2015
L'Ormindo - Shakespeare's Globe
Kasper Holtenís acclaimed production returns to the Globe
Friday 21 November 2014 to Saturday 7 March 2015
Assassins - Menier Chocolate Factory
Musical by Stephen Sondheim and John Weidman
Thursday 5 February 2015 to Saturday 7 March 2015
Gods and Monsters - Southwark Playhouse
Based on the novel Father of Frankenstein
Wednesday 11 February 2015 to Saturday 7 March 2015
Farinelli and the King - Shakespeare's Globe
World premiere of Claire van Kampen's new play with music
Wednesday 28 January 2015 to Sunday 8 March 2015
VAULT 2015 - The Vaults
Six-week multi-arts programme
Thursday 19 February 2015 to Saturday 14 March 2015
Lippy - Young Vic
London premiere
Friday 13 February 2015 to Sunday 15 March 2015
Britainís Best Recruiting Sergeant - Unicorn Theatre
Feisty, song-filled and touching look at the life of Vesta Tilley
Friday 16 January 2015 to Saturday 21 March 2015
The Caucasian Chalk Circle - Unicorn Theatre
Bold new production of Brecht's moral masterpiece
Friday 13 February 2015 to Saturday 21 March 2015
Happy Days - Young Vic
Juliet Stevenson returns to the Young Vic
Tuesday 20 January 2015 to Saturday 4 April 2015
Dara - National Theatre
Adapted by Tanya Ronder from Shahid Nadeem's play
Wednesday 11 March 2015 to Saturday 4 April 2015
The Cutting of the Cloth - Southwark Playhouse
By Michael Hastings. Directed by Tricia Thorns
Wednesday 3 December 2014 to Wednesday 8 April 2015
Treasure Island - National Theatre
NT's family Christmas show
Monday 10 November 2014 to Monday 13 April 2015
Behind The Beautiful Forevers - National Theatre
A tumultuous play on an epic scale
Wednesday 21 January 2015 to Thursday 16 April 2015
The Hard Problem - National Theatre
By Tom Stoppard
Thursday 12 March 2015 to Saturday 18 April 2015
The Broken Heart - Shakespeare's Globe
John Ford's searching exploration of the darkest recesses of the human psyche
Thursday 9 April 2015 to Saturday 18 April 2015
Dido, Queen of Carthage - Shakespeare's Globe
Globe Young Players production
Tuesday 14 April 2015 to Saturday 25 April 2015
Lorca: amor en el jardin Lorca: Love in the Garden - Southwark Playhouse
Saturday 28 March 2015 to Sunday 26 April 2015
The Velveteen Rabbit - Unicorn Theatre
Classic American tale
Friday 13 March 2015 to Thursday 30 April 2015
Rules For Living - National Theatre
A new play by Sam Holcroft, directed by Marianne Elliott
Wednesday 11 March 2015 to Saturday 2 May 2015
Buyer and Cellar - Menier Chocolate Factory
Starring Michael Urie
Thursday 16 April 2015 to Sunday 3 May 2015
Fight Night - Unicorn Theatre
Directed by Alexander Devriendt
Tuesday 17 February 2015 to Thursday 14 May 2015
Man and Superman - National Theatre
Ralph Fiennes returns to the National
Thursday 9 April 2015 to Sunday 31 May 2015
Alice's Adventures Underground - The Vaults
Thursday 7 May 2015 to Thursday 4 June 2015
Planeta Ka - Unicorn Theatre
Discover a new environment using sound, textures and visual effects
Thursday 23 April 2015 to Sunday 7 June 2015
The Merchant of Venice - Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Jonathan Munby
Saturday 6 June 2015 to Sunday 21 June 2015
One Little Word - Unicorn Theatre
Moving story of friendship, power struggles and the rich world of creative play
Monday 1 June 2015 to Sunday 28 June 2015
King John - Shakespeare's Globe
A tangled world of ruthless politicking and fatal power struggles
Friday 3 July 2015 to Saturday 8 August 2015
A Number - Young Vic
Caryl Churchill's thrilling drama
Thursday 30 April 2015 to Saturday 22 August 2015
High Society - The Old Vic
Cole Porter's classic feel-good musical
Friday 15 May 2015 to Saturday 5 September 2015
As You Like It - Shakespeare's Globe
Blanche McIntyre directs Shakespeare's lyrical comedy
Friday 31 July 2015 to Saturday 5 September 2015
The Heresy of Love - Shakespeare's Globe
New writing by Helen Edmundson
Saturday 29 August 2015 to Friday 16 October 2015
Oresteia - Shakespeare's Globe
A contemporary distillation of all three plays
Saturday 20 June 2015 to Saturday 17 October 2015
Measure for Measure - Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Dominic Dromgoole
Saturday 19 September 2015 to Saturday 17 October 2015
Nell Gwynn - Shakespeare's Globe
Jessica Swale's rambunctious and vibrant new play
Saturday 11 July 2015 to Sunday 18 October 2015
Richard II - Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Simon Godwin

Subscribe now

For the latest local news and events direct to your inbox every Monday, you need our weekly email newsletter SE1 Direct.

7,300+ locals read it every week. Can you afford to miss out?

Read the latest issue before signing up