Theatre

What's on at SE1's many theatres; West End and fringe; professional and amateur.

Theatre by venue

Theatre by date

Sunday 11 December 2016
Divided Britain By five playwrights at Southwark Playhouse
Including Bexit and wealth gap
Tuesday 25 October 2016 to Thursday 15 December 2016
King Lear at The Old Vic
With Glenda Jackson
Thursday 15 December 2016 to Saturday 17 December 2016
Snow White A Musical Pantomime at Greenwood Theatre
Local am dram group's annual panto
Thursday 24 November 2016 to Sunday 18 December 2016
Ivy at Southwark Playhouse
Secret location
Tuesday 29 November 2016 to Sunday 18 December 2016
Jest End at Waterloo East Theatre
Garry Lake's hit comedy musical show
Wednesday 23 November 2016 to Thursday 22 December 2016
Soho Cinders A New Musical at Union Theatre
A satirical twist on the classic Cinderella story
Saturday 3 December 2016 to Thursday 22 December 2016
The Night Before Christmas at The Bottle Shop
Wednesday 7 December 2016 to Friday 23 December 2016
Living With the Lights On at Young Vic
Mark Lockyer’s personal experience of bipolar disorder
Wednesday 30 November 2016 to Saturday 24 December 2016
Licensed to Ill at Southwark Playhouse
Show about Beastie Boys
Tuesday 6 December 2016 to Saturday 31 December 2016
A Christmas Carol at The Vaults
The festive classic is reimagined as a 1940s-style radio drama
Wednesday 7 December 2016 to Saturday 7 January 2017
Muted at The Bunker
New musical
Thursday 8 December 2016 to Sunday 8 January 2017
Kiki's Delivery Service at Southwark Playhouse
A magical tale of growing up and finding acceptance
Friday 25 November 2016 to Saturday 14 January 2017
Once in a Lifetime at Young Vic
Hollywood satire
Thursday 24 November 2016 to Sunday 22 January 2017
The Little Matchgirl (and Other Happier Tales) at Shakespeare's Globe
Music, puppetry and candlelight
Thursday 5 January 2017 to Saturday 28 January 2017
The Tempest at Southwark Playhouse
Shakespeare
Tuesday 10 January 2017 to Saturday 4 February 2017
Muted Abigail and Come on Over at The Bunker
New musical
Tuesday 6 December 2016 to Sunday 12 February 2017
All the Angels Handel and the First Messiah at Shakespeare's Globe
Critically acclaimed play with music
Saturday 10 December 2016 to Saturday 18 February 2017
Art at The Old Vic
Yasmina Reza's dazzling study of friendship, prejudice and tolerance
Friday 13 January 2017 to Saturday 18 February 2017
Promises, Promises at Southwark Playhouse
Music by Burt Bacharach
Wednesday 1 February 2017 to Saturday 25 February 2017
School Play at Southwark Playhouse
Set in a south London school
Friday 25 November 2016 to Saturday 4 March 2017
She Loves Me at Menier Chocolate Factory
Musical
Saturday 11 February 2017 to Saturday 4 March 2017
See Me Now at Young Vic
Created and performed by sex workers
Wednesday 1 March 2017 to Saturday 25 March 2017
The Diary of a Teenage Girl at Southwark Playhouse
Based on the graphic novel by Phoebe Gloeckner
Friday 17 February 2017 to Saturday 1 April 2017
A Midsummer Night's Dream at Young Vic
Joe Hill-Gibbins returns with a nightmarish take on Shakespeare's Dream
Wednesday 22 March 2017 to Saturday 1 April 2017
The Bear/The Proposal at Young Vic
Two one act Chekhov plays
Thursday 26 January 2017 to Sunday 16 April 2017
The White Devil at Shakespeare's Globe
John Webster's The White Devil, directed by Annie Ryan.
Thursday 23 February 2017 to Sunday 16 April 2017
Othello at Shakespeare's Globe
Directed by Ellen McDougall
Wednesday 29 March 2017 to Saturday 22 April 2017
Natives at Southwark Playhouse
Boundless Theatre
Saturday 25 March 2017 to Saturday 29 April 2017
The Life at Southwark Playhouse
UK premiere
Saturday 6 May 2017 to Saturday 24 June 2017
Woyzeck at The Old Vic
Starring John Boyega
Friday 2 June 2017 to Saturday 8 July 2017
Working at Southwark Playhouse
European premiere
Wednesday 22 November 2017 to Saturday 2 December 2017
Yellowman at Young Vic
Set in South Carolina in the 1970s

Keep up with SE1 news

We have three email newsletters for you to choose from: