London SE1 website team

Parliamentary boat race: MPs beat peers

The House of Commons once again proved its primacy over the House of Lords when MPs beat peers at the annual parliamentary boat race.

Parliamentary boat race: MPs beat peers
The Commons crew heading upstream for the start of the race
Parliamentary boat race: MPs beat peers
The peers in the red shirts were some way behind the green crew as they approached Lambeth Bridge

It's the third year in a row that the green crew has beaten the red crew in the race between Millbank Pier and the Palace of Westminster.

The Commons crew included Tory MPs George Freeman, Edward Leigh, Claire Perry and John Stevenson.

The Lords v Commons race is the finale of the annual regatta organised by the All-Party Parliamentary Rowing Group.

The SE1 website is supported by people like you

Please join our membership scheme or sponsor an hour of local reporting so we can survive

You can also make a small payment to say 'thank you' for this article with Tibit:

This article on a map


Related forum discussions

Keep up with SE1 news

We have three email newsletters for you to choose from: