London SE1 website team

Lambeth Council leader takes charge of Waterloo regeneration

The leader of Lambeth Council, Cllr Lib Peck, has announced her reshuffled cabinet after last week's elections. As part of the new lineup the leader has taken personal responsibility for the regeneration of Waterloo and Vauxhall.

Cllr Lib Peck remains Lambeth Council leader after the party's strong showing at the local government elections on Thursday which saw the Labour Party win 59 of 63 council seats, up from 43 in 2010.

The party won control of Bishop's ward which covers the westernmost part of SE1 around Waterloo and the South Bank.

Cllr Peck will have specific responsibility for growth and regeneration with an emphasis on what the council describes as "the high-profile Vauxhall and Waterloo opportunity areas".

For the past few years the former deputy leader, Cllr Jackie Meldrum, has been responsible for Waterloo regeneration, serving on the South Bank Partnership and Waterloo Quarter BID.

Cllr Peck said: "We have remodelled the cabinet to match our cooperative council way of working, and we are now all really keen to get on with the job.

"We have a very strong, keen and committed new team that are ready to work hard for their local communities, and to fulfil the promise we made going into the election: to be fair to everyone and ambitious for all.

"There are serious challenges to face, not least of all the huge cuts to our budget being imposed by the Government.

"But we are determined to do what we can and continue helping support those in need and backing people as they strive to reach their goals in life."

The new cabinet in full

• Leader of the Council: Cllr Lib Peck
• Deputy Leader (Policy Delivery): Cllr Imogen Walker
• Deputy Leader (Finance & Investment): Cllr Paul McGlone
• Cabinet Member for Children & Adult Services: Cllr Jackie Meldrum
• Cabinet Member for Environment & Sustainability: Cllr Jenny Brathwaite
• Cabinet Member for Families: Cllr Rachel Heywood
• Cabinet Member for Health & Wellbeing: Cllr Jim Dickson
• Cabinet Member for Housing: Cllr Matthew Bennett
• Cabinet Member for Jobs & Growth: Cllr Jack Hopkins
• Cabinet Member for Neighbourhoods: Cllr Jane Edbrooke

The SE1 website is supported by people like you

Keep up with SE1 news

We have three email newsletters for you to choose from:

Proud to belong to

Independent Community News Network