Reviews of Del'Aziz

Canvey Street, London SE1

Del Aziz very poor breakfast

Posted by boroughpaul on Tuesday 24 May 2011

Yesterday had breakfast at Del'Aziz in Bermondsey Square. Poached eggs resembling cakes of hotel soap, grilled tomatoes that never visited the grill. A place to avoid if you want to enjoy breakfast

do go!

Posted by lisa s on Sunday 21 February 2010

Del'Aziz does not claim that they are Moroccan! They are a fusion of all the Mediterranean and Middle East. They interpret cuisine, ambience and entertainment on their very own "Del'Aziz " way! Their food is reasonably priced and delicious. We go there to have lunch 3-4 times a week, their burgers are superb! Last Thursday we had dinner at Del'Aziz , £19.50 for 3 course was great value. 2 mezze starter,my aubergine pate was excellent, the waitress told me it was prepared using a secret Persian recipe. For main I had the chicken shish with saffron rice,lovely, tasty, tender chicken and the rice was cooked to perfection. The dessert (chocolate gateaux) was so huge and tasty that I had to take it away! They also had on that night Flamenco, which together with the friendly staff created a great atmosphere.I can only recommend this restaurant to everyone who is looking for a great meal in a casual yet stylish environment.

DO NOT GO

Posted by rosey_s on Sunday 21 February 2010

Now for someone who grew up in Morocco and has eaten Moroccan food in numerous countries around the world the meal in Del Aziz has to be the least Moroccan place of them all and the worst meal I have had in my life when thinking of all the other restaurants I have been to. The fast food joints surpassed Del Aziz. For starters we had tiger prawn borek (£6.5) and grilled sardines (£5.50), each starter plate had only 2 pieces of each item, the portions were very small, and it did nothing for our taste buds. To be honest the starters looked more like those small samplers they pass around in supermarkets. For the main meal we had ordered a vegetable couscous (£11.50) and a Moroccan lamb (£13.50), before ordering we were assured by the head waiter that the Moroccan lamb was an actual lamb shank, yet when the food arrived it was a skewer of lamb, with 5 small pieces only. My vegetable couscous was beyond disappointing, there were 3 table spoons of couscous and 1 table spoon of vegetables on my plate. The couscous dish consisted of mainly tomato paste broth with a few left over vegetables thrown in mainly for garnish I think. This did not come close to what a real Moroccan couscous dish should taste like, I have never seen thick tomato paste for a Moroccan couscous vegetable broth in my life. We had waited 45 minutes for the main dishes to arrive and after eating it we were so disappointed we just wanted to pay and leave. Even our beers were warm, when we asked the waiter for a cold one we were told we only have these. I think the chefs need some serious lessons in BASIC FOOD PREPARATION, and the managers need to make sure that the meals that are served in their restaurant actually tastes like food, forget the elaborate labelling Mediterranean this, Iranian that and Moroccan this. The staff are clueless and have no idea what the items are on their menu. They keep on passing huge baskets of bread around hoping that this will numb our taste buds to their bad meal and terrible portions. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Bad food, bad service

Posted by tom21 on Saturday 16 May 2009

On the first few occaisions we found this place to be quite good even if they were expensive. Since then the quality of food has gone down hill, the dishes are unrecognisable and much smaller portions. On our last visit we ordered the same main course, they arrived looking very different. The lamb tagine had four pieces of lamb. Service has always been pretty poor here. Clearly something has gone wrong. Not wasting any more time here.

So so brunch...

Posted by Koala on Sunday 26 April 2009

Brunch is one of our favourite meals of the weekend. Having tried most SE1 options, we chose Del'Aziz this weekend. It was very average indeed. I chose the Gravadlax breakfast, it came with a tiny mound of dry over scrambled eggs and a huge mound of dry, darkening rocket leaves.There wasn't much gravadlax and for £8.50 I felt ripped off. My partner had the full breakfast which was quite pale and badly cooked coming in at an astonishing £10.50! Disappointing.

Surprised by reviews...

Posted by bluefish on Sunday 14 December 2008

I'm a bit surprised to see so negative reviews for this location. I recently organised a Christmas dinner for 18 friends at the Bankside location, having had a positive experience dining with my wife at the Fulham location.

I found everything to be as promised - food delicious, portions reasonable, pricing favourable. Everything that was promised was delivered. The managers were very pro-active and communicative in the lead-up to the event itself and always available by phone and email.

It's hard to co-ordinate well-prepared meals for larger groups, especially during a busy season - but I think Bankside did rather well!

If I have any negative comment, it would have been for a slightly slow service, but I would attribute that more to my lack of co-ordination (as party host) with our waiter rather than any fault of the restaurant itself.

I'd recommend them, and would heartily endorse their delicious Christmas meal if you're looking for a local option.

I'm not connected to them - just a satisfied customer after two meals, one each at 2 different locations.

Very bad service

Posted by Mirna on Monday 3 November 2008

We had the horrible service this Saturday at Del'Aziz . We ordered some appetizers which were nice but on the small side, and 3 mains + 2 soups as main courses. The 3 mains arrived, but no soups. After we asked the waiter where are the soups, we were assure that they will be coming "in a minute". After another 15 mins, while our mains where getting very cold they came back to tell us that they ran out of soup!!! and that we had to order something else! This was over an hour after our initial order, and our 3 mains where on the table for more than 20 mins. They brought us some measly salads as substitute, and that was it! They will not see me there again!

Disappointing service

Posted by jemma on Saturday 11 October 2008

I went to Del'Aziz a couple of weeks ago with friends. I'd read great reviews of the restaurant so was keen to try it out. We enjoyed the food, but the service was very disappointing. One of our main courses was forgotten and subsequently arrived when we'd finished our mains. Service of desserts was also slow and we waited a long time for the bill. Good food but make sure you're not in a rush!

Gorgeous cakes

Posted by Pollo on Tuesday 2 September 2008

I've only ever been to Del Aziz for coffee and cakes but I think it's fabulous. The service can be a little slow at times but the staff are really warm and friendly. The cakes aren't cheap but they are huge portions and absolutely gorgeous! I love the ambience there - I think it's great that they have moved into a brand new building and made it feel so warm and inviting with all the pottery and yummy goodies for sale. It's a great addition to the area!

Del'Aziz is the Bizz

Posted by GaryS on Tuesday 2 September 2008

I second the recent positive reviews for this newish addition to the SE1 restaurant scene. I have been on 4 different occassions in the evening and found the food to be exemplary, service excllent and the ambience not half bad either!
Lamb Tagine here is superb!
A good cheapish eat up there as an alternative to a good chinese or indian! Try it!

FANTASTIC

Posted by anita serbedzic on Tuesday 2 September 2008

MY CHILL OUT DAY END IN BEAUTIFULL RESTAURANT,FIRST THING WHAT I NOTICE WAS FANTASTICK LOOKING CAKES(you must try them all),I went in, great i see smaile faces and i get a nice hallo from staff. next thing i get excatly what i order with no delays and food is devine,I was recomended
to try a glass of nice red with my lamb kebab.Wine was :-)ALL TOGETHER PLACE IS SOMETHING YOU NEAD TOO EXPIRIANCE!!!
I'm definatly going back.

Very disappointing

Posted by jhumddlo on Tuesday 15 July 2008

I recently lunched at Del'Aziz with a friend. We both ordered from the daily special menu. I order the lamb tagine with couscous. Eventually, the tagine arrived with no couscous. I explained the problem to various waiters, one after another, who seemed to think if I wanted something additional I should have ordered it at the time. The manager was no better and I ended up asking for the menu back to show them what they were meant to be serving. They apologised and returned 10 minutes later with something that was similar to pearl barley. I don't know what it was but it definitely wasn't couscous and by that time the tagine was cold and I'd lost interest anyway. I'll return in the evening for cocktails which are good but I won't eat there again. The staff clearly don't have any familiarity with what's on the menu.

Offensive

Posted by JQL on Monday 14 July 2008

I was looking forward to trying this new addition to the neighbourhood and could not have been more disappointed.

There was a lack of staff in the restaurant and a lack of ability in the kitchen. Had to wait forty five minutes to receive a tepid sharing platter of small and overpriced Meze which arrived before the drinks or the bread - despite numerous requests for the drinks from the waiter with a severely limited grasp of English. We are still waiting for the bread to accompany the Houmous.

The Meze were tasty enough but we then had to endure a further 45 minute wait to receive our mains of Persian Chicken Kebab and Braised Lamb. The lamb was small but passable but certainly not worth waiting for - but the chicken was quite simply offensive.

The long awaited chicken was one skewer of burnt, fibrous chicken that tasted like old bark rolled in a large ashtray. This pathetic homage to a campfire was served with the smallest portion of rice I have ever received. I had to leave half of the chicken as I did not have an electric carving knive.

The prices aren't cheap but the owners obviously are - scrimping on service and portion sizes at every turn.

The waste of money was annoying but the waste of our time was inexcusable and the service was contemptuous. They added 12.5% as standard and I didn't argue as, at this rate, they will all be out of a job soon and will need the extra few quid.

This place needs to sort itself out quickly or risk alienating the local customers that will be its bread and butter. Then again, we never did receive that bread...

quick service and attentive

Posted by nigel on Monday 14 July 2008

decided on some Morrocan Mint tea and Baklava to cheer myself after being ill all Sunday/monday.I'm a fan of all things Middle Eastern and think nothing of heading off to Edgware Road or Dizengoff in Golders green for a Middle Eastern grill..For those who have slated the service,well I guess I lucked out, admitedly baklava and mint tea is pretty quick to serve but I was served immediately...Not cheap £8.50 but it was enough for two,and my spirits are lifted...even able to write this review from my table from their neighbours wifi

Service service service

Posted by Bel Ludovic on Saturday 12 July 2008

Checked this place out today after I heard they were opening in Bermondsey Square. Looks and feels like a great concept, with an inviting space and tempting food on display.

All I wanted on this occasion was to take away some cheesecake, but I stood there for literally five minutes before someone deigned to serve me - despite a member of staff walking past me a few times and even glumly bidding me 'good morning'. Eventually she barked at some poor Polish-looking teenager to serve me, which he started doing, only before being shunted off to do something else by someone I presume is the manager, who finished serving me.

I tried to be friendly. "So, when's the big opening in Bermondsey Square?" "Yes, yes. Soon," he replied. "Well," I said, gesturing at our surroundings. "It looks very nice." Reply came there none. There were about four people in the whole place at this time, so they were hardly busy enough to seem so harrassed.

On the plus side, £3.50 bought me a piece of cheesecake the size of a paving slab, and it's delicious too.

Such a shame...

Posted by Laura H on Saturday 12 July 2008

My first visit to Del Aziz was a pleasant experience and I was happy to find such a place in the newly developed Bankside area. However upon my return last night with group of friends I was shocked at the appalling service. It took half an hour for our first drinks to arrive and it was an hour before all drinks arrived (not to mention the delay in the bread etc that we ordered). No apologies were made by the waiting staff or manager - apparently it was simply to be expected because they were busy and we had ordered cocktails. An apology or acknowledgement of the poor service would have appeased us however the managers hardline that they had done no wrong was hard to comprehend.

Worth a visit

Posted by Long-Term Local on Monday 7 July 2008

I've dropped in to Del'Aziz twice for coffee - once mid-week, mid-afternoon and once late afternoon on Sunday. The place is attractive and the location is ideal - near enough the South Bank but not getting the hordes of visitors that places alongside the river attract. The staff have been really nice and the food looks good - definitely worth a taste soon.

Nice deli, will come back to try food

Posted by carmenes82 on Monday 23 June 2008

This is a nice looking place with an excellent deli offering sweet and savoury goods. The restaurant menu looks good and will definitely go back to try it. Branch opening at Bermondsey Square according to their business card.

The reviews on this page are the personal opinions of the writers and not the publishers of this website.

If you feel that this page contains inappropriate material, please let us know.

Subscribe now

For the latest local news and events direct to your inbox every Monday, you need our weekly email newsletter SE1 Direct.

7,300+ locals read it every week. Can you afford to miss out?

Read the latest issue before signing up

Food & drink