A map of Bermondsey has been produced to help residents and visitors explore the area's history in industry, art and architecture.
From the Design Museum and Unicorn Theatre to Bermondsey Antiques Market and Manze's Pie and Mash Shop, the map takes explorers along the Thames and through parks and gardens to help them discover some of Bermondsey's fascinating back streets.
Simon Hughes speaking at the launch of the map
"Bermondsey has become a great place to live work and play in over the last few years, but beyond the obvious attractions there's a vast area of Bermondsey that is less well known despite its fascinating history," says Victoria Obeng-Asamoah, deputy chair of the South Bermondsey Partnership. "We hope our new map will enable local people and visitors to experience it to the full."
Copies of the map can be obtained from Southwark's libraries and tourist information offices, by calling 020 7740 0893 or emailing email@example.com
The launch of the map coincided with the unveiling of a blue plaque on the former Peek Freans biscuit factory – now Workspace Group's Tower Bridge Business Complex.
James Peek and George Hender Frean founded the company at Dockhead in 1857. Nine years later they moved to Clements Road where the factory remained until 1989.
The biscuit factory provided Bermondsey and Rotherhithe with a major source of employment and for decades the area was known as Biscuit Town.
Peek Freans biscuits can still be purchased in the United States and Canada. The Peek Frean factory in Toronto is located in Bermondsey Road.