Come and visit the London Fire Brigade Museum as part of Open House 2014. There will be a rare opportunity to look around previously unseen areas of the museum, once used by the first Chief Officer of the Brigade, Captain Eyre Massey Shaw. Shaw resided in Winchester House, now home to the LFB Museum, during the 19th century. The open day will celebrate the rich history of the site, from its use as pleasure gardens known as 'Finch's Grotto' in the 1770s , a workhouse, a hat factory and finally from 1878 the official residence of the chief officers of the Metropolitan Fire Brigade. It is not necessary to book and admission is free! All ages are welcome.