London SE1 website team

Local people urged to vote in hospital elections

Thousands of members of Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust will this week receive ballot papers to elect ten people to the trust's Members' Council.

Danny McCarthy and Peter Truesdale
Cllr Danny McCarthy (Lab, Cathedrals ward, Southwark) and Cllr Peter Truesdale (Lib Dem, Bishop's ward, Lambeth) are standing for the members' council

The Members' Council is the body of local people, patients and staff set up to advise the trust on how it carries out its work.

There are 13 local people and 11 patients standing for election (with five seats up for election in each constituency). They are:

Public constituency

David Payne; Andy Leeson; Susan Brooks; Felix Anthony Ogbogoh; Michelle Baldeosingh; Wendy Mathews; Peter Truesdale; Jenny Cobley; Daphne Christine McKenzie; Suhail Khawaja; Alex Bigham; Aziz Islam; Jean Bates.

Patient constituency

John A Mathews; Niamh O'Sullivan; Richard Thompson; Bill Ashworth; Garth Wiseman; Colin Dibsdall; Susan Hardy; Peter Budge; Danny McCarthy; Yvonne Elizabeth White; John Martin Taylor.

"The Members' Council is pivotal to the running of our hospital and is one of the most important ways that we get feedback from local people and patients about the way we run their hospitals," says outgoing chief executive Sir Jonathan Michael. "I encourage our public and patient members to vote in our elections."

People interested in becoming a member of Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust or who require more information about the election should call 0870 143 4017, email or visit Members should be one of the following: a resident of Lambeth or Southwark; a patient at the trust in the last three years; or a member of trust staff.

The SE1 website is supported by people like you

Keep up with SE1 news

We have three email newsletters for you to choose from:

Proud to belong to

Independent Community News Network