London SE1 community website

MPs win Thames boat race against Lords

London SE1 website team

The Parliamentary Boat Race has been won by the House of Commons.

MPs win Thames boat race against Lords
The Commons crew wear green shirts and the peers are dressed in red to match the colours of the benches in each house
MPs win Thames boat race against Lords
Tory MP Edward Leigh was one of the participants in the race
MPs win Thames boat race against Lords
The colour-coded oars are decorated with Parliament's portcullis emblem

The Lords and Commons crews were neck and neck at Lambeth Palace having passed under Lambeth Bridge together but the Commons pulled away in front of St Thomas' Hospital to cross the finishing line upstream of Westminster Bridge.

The annual Parliamentary Regatta regatta took place in bright sunshine on Wednesday afternoon with the Houses of Parliament teams competing at high tide which this year was one of July's highest.

Other teams taking part in the regatta included young Londoners and Doggett's Coat & Badge winners.

The Lords won the race in 2012 after a gap of three years.

The SE1 website is supported by people like you
Related forum discussions
We are part of
Independent Community News Network
Email newsletter

For the latest local news and events direct to your inbox every Monday, you need our weekly email newsletter SE1 Direct.

7,000+ locals read it every week. Can you afford to miss out?

Read the latest issue before signing up

News archive from February 1999 to January 2001
Got a story for us?
Contact us with your tip-offs and story ideas.