London SE1 community website

Southwark at 50

This event is in the past. This is an archive page for reference.

Southwark Council marks its 50th anniversary with a civic celebration.

The ceremony will incorporate the installation of 10 new Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen - former councillors Linda Manchester, Robin Crookshank Hilton, Veronica Ward, Lewis Robinson, Tim McNally, Toby Eckersley, Graham Neale, Jonathan Mitchell, Mark Glover and Paul Noblet. The title of Alderman or Alderwoman is conferred upon former councillors who have served two terms and wish to accept the honour.

There will be music on the day by the combined bands of the Army Medical Services (AMS) and 150 Regiment The Royal Logistic Corps with The Military Wives Choir (South London).

An ecumenical act of worship will be led by the Bishop of Southwark, Rt Revd Christopher Chessun, with the Archbishop of Southwark, Most Revd Peter Smith. Representatives of the borough's other main religions will also speak.

All are welcome to attend the ceremony on the day.

  • 11.30am (be seated by 11.15am)
  • FREE

Southwark Cathedral
London Bridge, London, SE1 9DA
infowhat's on @map

This belongs to

This event is in the past. This is an archive page for reference.
We are part of
Independent Community News Network
Email newsletter

For the latest local news and events direct to your inbox every Monday, you need our weekly email newsletter SE1 Direct.