London SE1 community website

Simon Hughes retains Bermondsey & Old Southwark

London SE1 website team

Simon Hughes has been elected for the eighth time as Bermondsey's member of parliament.

Simon Hughes retains Bermondsey & Old Southwark

The Liberal Democrat first entered Parliament in 1983 when he defeated Labour's Peter Tatchell at the notorious Bermondsey by-election.

In 2005 he retained the seat – then named North Southwark and Bermondsey – with a 5,406 majority and 47.1 per cent of the vote.

This time – with the seat renamed Bermondsey & Old Southwark after minor boundary changes – he faced a challenge from Labour's Val Shawcross who has a high profile as London Assembly member for Lambeth and Southwark.

However, Hughes managed to slightly increase his share of the vote with Labour's share falling slightly compared to the result achieved by Kirsty McNeill in 2005.

Conservative candidate Loanna Morrison received 17.1 per cent of the vote. In 2005 Tory David Branch polled 12.5 per cent.

Of particular note is the 3.1 per cent of the vote received by the British National Party. In 1997 (the last time the party stood in the constituency) it received just 1.7 per cent.

Tom Chance (Green) 718
Steve Freeman (Independent) 120
Simon Hughes (Liberal Democrat) 21,590
Alan Kirkby (Independent) 155
Loanna Morrison (Conservative) 7,638
Val Shawcross (Labour) 13,060
Stephen Tyler (British National Party) 1,370

Turnout was 57 per cent.

Simon Hughes used his acceptance speech to issue a stern rebuke to Southwark Council over the conduct of the count. It was 6am before either of the two constituencies being counted at the Academy at Peckham were ready to declare their results.

He also welcomed Londoners' rejection of the BNP and other extremists.

Southwark people standing for parliament elsewhere

Meanwhile two former Southwark Labour councillors have been elected to Parliament. Alison McGovern, formerly of Brunswick Park ward, is the new MP for Wirral South whilst Susan Elan Jones, latterly of The Lane ward, is now MP for Clwyd South.

Riverside ward Lib Dem councillor Anood Al-Samerai got 8,679 votes as parliamentary candidate in Ilford South: but she chose to spend the evening in Southwark.

Follow us on Twitter through the afternoon for coverage of the Southwark and Lambeth council election results.

Listen to audio
The SE1 website is supported by people like you
We are part of
Independent Community News Network
Email newsletter

For the latest local news and events direct to your inbox every Monday, you need our weekly email newsletter SE1 Direct.

News archive from February 1999 to January 2001
Got a story for us?
Contact us with your tip-offs and story ideas.